The Clinic

Tik breathed a quiet sigh of relief when Esladra finally let him in to see Lilithel. He wasn’t entirely sure what had happened, and no one made any effort to explain anything while he was waiting. He didn’t even know Lilithel had gone to the clinic in town until Magister Fairsong had informed him that she had asked for a portal, and asked for a message to be passed on to Tik to join her there. The Magister had about as much clue as Tik did, and he was dealing with his own crying baby. Rather than make him wait, and ask more questions, Tik quickly explained the lunch he was making to Terellion and Menissa, and took the portal that the Magister offered.

Things weren’t any clearer in town when he arrived. Lilithel was nowhere to be seen. Lani, Esladra and Isandri all seemed busy. They told him to sit and wait. So he did. He hoped each time one of them passed that they would explain something. Was everything okay? Was she having the baby now? But no one said anything. Even when Esladra came to the waiting room and told him that he could come in to see Lilithel now, nothing was explained to say what had happened.

Looking around the room, Tik saw no baby yet, and Lilithel definitely looked like she was still very pregnant. She lay on her side in the bed and offered him a tired smile.
He sat in the chair next to the bed and took her hand. “I was worried. No one told me what happened. Is everything okay?”

Lilithel nodded. “It is now. I was mucking out the stalls in the stable and had some pain, along with some faintness. Esladra says I need to spend the rest of the pregnancy here at the clinic and in bed. But I’m also slightly overdue, so thankfully, I don’t think I’ll be stuck here long.”

Tik frowned slightly. He had asked her to let the Magister find someone else to do the work in the stable with the animals, but she had refused. He had even offered to do it himself, but she had resorted to threatening to kick his ass if he even tried. Of course, pointing that out now wouldn’t help anything. “I’m just glad you’re both okay. No one told me anything about what was going on.”

“I’m not sure they know.”

“Are you feeling okay now?”

Lilithel nodded again. “The pain is gone. Lani thinks it was gas, but that wouldn’t explain why I almost fainted. Esladra wants me here just in case. Isandri and Esladra are going to be taking care of me this evening while Lani naps. She’s going to be making sure everything is okay at night.”

Tik frowned again. He was tempted to ask if he could stay as well, but Lilithel would say no to that, wouldn’t she? He supposed there was only one sure way to know. “Perhaps I could stay as well.”

Lilithel raised a brow. “And who will take the Magister his tea in the morning?”

“I suppose Terellion can do that.”

“And I suppose he’s going to make breakfast for everyone, start making lunch, clean, restock the reagents in the practice rooms, do laundry, take care of the garden, feed the hawkstriders and dragonhawks, muck out the stalls that I didn’t finish, and do everything else that you and I both do as well as the things he normally does?”

Tik nodded. She was right. There was too much work to expect Terellion to do it all. In fact, he was already worried that there would be no supper, only cake, at the school tonight because he wasn’t there to make it.

“You’re already thinking about all the things that could go horribly wrong without you there, aren’t you?” Lilithel grinned.

“You know me too well.”

“Go home tonight. Take care of them tomorrow. I’ll be fine here. Lani, Esladra and Isandri will take care of me, and I know they’ll send someone for you if there’s anything. Come visit during the evening, after supper. Maybe you can get someone to help with the dishes to make it faster.” Lilithel smiled.

“Are you sure that’s what you want?”

She nodded.

“Okay, but I do insist on staying a while longer before I go back. I spent all afternoon worried that something was wrong.”

Lilithel smiled and reached over to take his hand. “I’ll allow it.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

