Kuul’s Notes

  • Imralion should be back soon, and I’ve been working on a report to present all the investigating I’ve done together in a way that makes sense. It’s not easy because I have to walk all the way to the school each morning for a portal to the city. Aeramin was making them for me, but he’s gone with Imralion. I guess he needs to learn about the demons too for better wards or something. I think just killing them all is better.
  • I spent a lot of time in the Row while Imralion was gone. He would sometimes go with me when he was here, but I think he scares the people. I know I would have been scared if I saw him a few years ago. My first thought would be that they sent someone to clean up the Row, and that would mean busting people for whatever they felt like! Luckily, we haven’t had any problems though I’m sure more than one person has thought about spitting on him.
  • Anyway, with him gone, I’ve been able to walk around without the looks that we get when he’s with me, so that’s good. People do know me there, and that’s good too. I don’t have to try to fit in because I’m already in.
  • I’ve been visiting the places where we think the murderer has struck and trying to talk to the landlords. Landlords in the Row are really hard to get to see, unless they’re renting a place. I was able to talk to them first because I posed as someone interested in renting before changing the subject to the murders. I was able to get lists of the tenants from them. Some of them I had to bribe, but most cooperated because they don’t want to be in trouble.
  • The ones who didn’t have places for rent, I had to track down by checking the records in the spire to find out where they live. I know first hand how difficult it is to get these guys to come out. If something breaks, it’s your problem, not theirs! And they certainly don’t want to deal with the authorities coming to ask about the people living in their places.
  • I’ve spent a lot of time at the Spire too, double-checking the records there against what the landlords are telling me. I’ve found out that half of them don’t even report they have apartments for rent! So that’s why the Spire’s records are so bad about rentals on the Row. That meant my footwork was going to be more extensive than it had to be.
  • So I started, first finding out the owners of places, then finding the owners, and asking if they had anyone new rent in the past few months. I knew to start my search in the southern area of the Row first as that’s where most of the bodies had been found. Unfortunately, not all of them would give me the information I requested as there’s some thing about tenant privacy or something. So there’s a couple who wouldn’t tell me which apartments they had recently rented. I just want to knock and ask some questions! It’s not like I’m asking them to open doors and search the places. I don’t think we’re that close to finding the right place yet.
  • Some of the landlords were a little more helpful. One of them went with me to the newer tenant’s door and knocked. It was a family and there was nothing suspicious about that. A couple of others gave me the apartment numbers which I went to myself and knocked. Most of them answered, and again, I saw nothing suspicious. There’s a couple of others, I had to go back and check on.
  • There were two that I received no answer. I stayed around one spot and watched one apartment until I finally saw someone inside. Then I went and knocked, and it’s just some guy who works three different jobs. I’ve been watching the second one, but I don’t see anyone go in or leave. I’ve smelled around the door, and it doesn’t smell like there’s anyone dead in there, but then, what if someone needs help? What if they’re still alive? I can’t break in, but I’m going to feel awful if we find someone there, and it’s too late to save them.
  • I have to continue talking to landlords, and checking the records as well, so I can’t watch this place full-time either. If there’s no one there, I’ve already wasted enough time. But then if there is someone who needs help, I haven’t spent enough time trying to get in to help them. Maybe I can call upon a couple of friends who know a bit about locks.
  • Hopefully, Imralion will be back soon, and I’ll have some help, and some training. Now is a good time to apply to be a blood knight. I applied and I’ve been accepted, but they need more people who can train. I think Imralion plans to do that. I hope so anyway. He’s hot! I do hope we’ll still have time to investigate though. I really don’t want to give up now.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

