Tik’s Request

Tik knocked lightly on the door to Magister Fairsong’s office. He was certain he would be here at this time of the day. The last classes had just ended fifteen minutes ago, and the Magister preferred finishing his work before doing anything else.

“Come in.” He heard the Magister call from inside.

He turned the door knob, and opened the door. As he expected, Magister Fairsong sat at his desk with a stack of papers in front of him. “Hello Tik.”

“Hello Magister. I was hoping you might have time to talk.”

Magister Fairsong put down his pen, and put the papers to the side. “Of course,” he said as he looked up and folded his hands on his desk. “Take a seat.”

Tik sat in one of the two chairs on the other side of the desk. He hesitated, not having thought of the exact words he meant to use.

“Is something wrong? The demons aren’t here are they?”

“No, Magister. It’s nothing like that.” Tik tried to sound reassuring, though he was worried. There was no need to make the Magister panic, and he would panic if he thought there was even the slightest chance of a demon getting through his wards. Tik could hardly blame him. He looked directly at the Magister. “It’s about Lilithel.”

“Is she okay?”

“She’s fine. Just fine. I just thought you might want to lessen her work load for a bit, and hire someone to help out temporarily.”

The Magister’s brow shot up. “That doesn’t sound— Are you sure she’s fine?”

Tik nodded, “Yes, well, she is. She’s just also a little pregnant. Maybe. She has an appointment with your sister tomorrow. She didn’t want me to say anything, but I worry a bit. If she is, then a lessened work load might be a good idea.”

The Magister looked confused. Finally, he said, “But she’s old.”

Tik took a slow deep breath, resisting an urge to twitch an ear. “She is older than most women who are having babies. This is true. I am as well. You must know that the older the mother is, the more things could go wrong. That is why I am requesting that you lessen the work she has to do.”

Magister Fairsong seemed to consider it for a moment before replying, “If she is, tell me after her appointment with my sister, and I’ll ask Terellion to put a sign up.” He paused as if considering something else, then said, “Are you going to get married? We could have a third huge wedding here this summer. I’m sure everyone would love it! Terellion would make a huge cake, and we could all decorate the garden, and- Oh! We would need to teach someone else to make spinach rolls. You can’t work at your own-”

“Magister,” Tik interrupted. “There won’t be a wedding. We’ve both decided that’s not what we want.”

The look on the Magister’s face told Tik he was going to have to explain.

“It’s not that we don’t love each other, but she likes where she is right now, and she likes her space. I have always lived in the main building, and I do not wish to leave. I suppose neither of us like change that much.”

“A baby is a big change.”

Magister Fairsong was right about that. Tik couldn’t agree more. He nodded in response.

“We could build onto the house,” Magister Fairsong smiled,”and make your room bigger. Maybe we could even turn it into an apartment. Then it would be big enough for Lilithel and the baby too.”

“That won’t be necessary, Magister. As I said, I think we’re both happy where we are, and I agree with you that a baby is a big change. I suppose we will see what happens.”

Magister Fairsong nodded though he still looked like he didn’t quite understand.

Tik stood. “I won’t keep you from your work, Magister, and I should get back to mine. Was there anything you needed while I’m here?”

“No, Tik. Thank you. Let me know tomorrow if I need to get some signs up.”

Tik nodded as he dipped into a quick short bow, “Of course, Magister.” He turned and left the room as Magister Fairsong went back to work on the stack of papers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

