Boyfriend

“Please, I need to talk to someone.”

Aeramin turned in the hallway to face the other elf, “There’s a confessor in town for that, Julan.”

“He’s not going to understand this.”

Aeramin raised a brow while noting how anxious Julan appeared, “Does it matter? He’s there to talk to. I think he tries to understand no matter what his patients say.”

“Tries to understand and actually understanding are two different things, but you— I know you would understand.”

“I have a lesson to be at in ten minutes, Julan. I don’t have time right now.”

“You have ten minutes. You just said so.”

Aeramin sighed, “Fine.” He turned back around and walked the other way in the hallway, “Follow me, we’ll talk in my office.” He heard the quickened footsteps behind him indicating that Julan was doing as he asked.

He opened the office door and waited as Julan passed through. “Have a seat, and not on the desk this time.” He moved to his own chair as Julan took a seat at a chair on the other side of the desk. “Okay, what is it?”

Julan took a deep breath, “Faeris said I’m his boyfriend.”

Aeramin twitched an ear in the silence that followed. “Okay, and?”

“That’s it.”

“Umm, okay, congrats on that.” Aeramin started to get up.

“No, wait! I mean how can he think that? I’ve never been a boyfriend before. I don’t know what I’m doing!”

“Julan, we have shared a bed, and I know that you know very well what you’re doing.”

“I don’t mean sex. I mean boyfriend.”

Aeramin sat back down, “Wait, you mean you’ve never..”

“No! I’ve never been in love. I don’t know how it works or what to do, or if it’s love or what. Does he mean he loves me by saying I’m his boyfriend? What do I do?”

“I’m going to say what I hear the Confessor say a lot. Talk to him. I think you need to ask him what he expects of you as a boyfriend. Most guys, when they say that, expect their boyfriend to be with them and not trying to get with all the other guys. Also, I am going to guess that if he thinks of you as his boyfriend, he probably wants to spend time with you.”

“Time with me exclusively?”

Aeramin nodded.

“Oh, I think I’m going to faint. How can this be happening?” Julan threw himself dramatically back in the chair and looked at the ceiling. “Maybe I should go back to the Row.”

“You don’t like him?”

“I do! I just— I don’t know. I never saw myself being with one guy.” He leaned forward quickly, his curls bouncing as his head came to a stop. “Aeramin, I don’t know if I can do this.”

“I think you can, but you won’t know if you run back to the Row. I thought you liked the rangers.”

“I do! Except Orledin. Well, I like his cookies.”

“Then why leave? So you have a boyfriend, give it a chance. Maybe you’ll like it.”

“But what if some other cute guy wants to be with me?”

Aeramin shrugged, “Ask Faeris if he wants to have a threesome?”

“Do you think he’d be okay with that if he’s really serious?”

“I don’t know. That’s why you have to ask him. If he’s not okay with it, then don’t—” He was interrupted by a knock at the door. He glanced at the door then back to Julan, “That’s probably my student coming to find me for her lesson. Stay in the room and leave after I leave. I don’t know if she’d recognize you or not, but I don’t need her thinking I have you in my office for anything other than talking.”

Julan nodded once, stood, and stepped out of direct view of the doorway.

Aeramin hoped he’d listen and talk to Faeris to sort things out. Teaching fire magic theory quickly put thoughts of Julan’s troubles out of his mind.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Boyfriend

  1. Aw meanwhile Faeris is like “I finally have a boyfriend!”

Leave a Reply

