The Papers

Hethurin Fairsong knocked on the door to the small study on the northern side of the house.  It was next to the second classroom, which had been used today for fire magic lessons.  He hoped he wasn’t too late.  He smiled as a voice called out from inside the room, “Enter!”.  He was still here.  He opened the door.

Aeramin sat at the desk in the room, with some papers spread out before him.  He glanced up as Hethurin walked in and sat in one of the chairs at the other side of the desk.

“Did you give them a test today?” Hethurin asked.

“No, I’m trying to catch up on the work I gave them to do before leaving.”

“Oh.  Do you have time to talk?  I was hoping to catch you before you went back to Shattrath.”

Aeramin stacked the papers neatly and put them to the side.  “I can take the work back with me to go over this weekend.  What is it?”

“I need papers.”

“Papers?”

“You know, identity papers.”

“Did you lose yours?”

“No, I need them for someone else.”

“Who?”

Hethurin paused, not sure how to explain it.  He decided to go with the truth.  “My brother.”

Aeramin’s brow raised, “You want papers to make it look like someone is your brother?”

“Oh, no.  No, no, no.  He needs to be my son on the papers, but he’s really my brother.”

“Are you okay?”

“Yes, and it’s true!”  Hethurin could tell from the look on Aeramin’s face that he had his doubts.  “Look, okay.  I’ll tell you everything.  I’ve been studying chronomancy, and–”

“Chronomancy?”  Aeramin interrupted, “Isn’t that dangerous? Dragons could swoop in, and–”

“Demons are dangerous.”  Hethurin interrupted this time, “Speaking of, I have something in the stable to show you as well.”

“Point taken, and I’ve heard about that already.”

“Good, then I don’t have to explain as much about that.  Now, back on topic, I’ve been studying chronomancy, and–”

“So the dragons don’t care anymore or something?” Aeramin interrupted again.

“No.  They do care.  Where do you think I’m learning it from?  Now let me finish telling you what happened.”

Aeramin nodded.

“So I’m learning chronomancy, and part of my practice is viewing other timelines.  In some of those timelines, I’m also learning chronomancy there, so there’s a few mages in other timelines who are me and can do the things that I can do.”

“Okay, so your ‘brother’ is one of these mages, but from another timeline?”

“Actually, no.”  Hethurin frowned, “He’s from this timeline, and he’s not a mage.  He really is my actual, real brother.  He was supposed to die, like everyone thought he did.  What happened was, one of my alternate selves was intent on kidnapping him.  He went to one of the other timelines first, but he was too late and the baby was already dead.  He took that baby and left it in our timeline when he took my brother.”

“But why?”

“I don’t know yet.  I’m working with my teacher to find out.  In the meantime, Vaildor needs papers here so that Lani can adopt him and he can go to school.  If you could somehow get records made that would be great too.”

“I don’t think it’s going to matter if he has papers or not.  No one will believe you’re his father if he’s older than you.”

Hethurin sighed, “He’s supposed to be older, but he’s not.  He’s in the right timeline now, but not the right time.  There’s not much to be done about that though.  If we take him back to his time, he’ll have no one to take care of him, unless my parents accept him, but then that means I might not be born, then I can’t take him back.  That would make a really bad time anomaly, and we don’t want to do that.  Anyway, we’re not sure how old he is, but he can’t be over twenty.”

“Okay, so if you’re his father, who should I put down as being his mother?”

“Oh, maybe someone who died recently and didn’t have any family, or someone who doesn’t want him, or something.  Can you make someone up?”

“I’d rather no one questions the authenticity of the papers.  If your sister wants to adopt him, she might want to check up on his mother’s family.  I don’t think making someone up is a good solution.”

“Well, I already made up a girl who I met in the library.  I didn’t get her name.  I told Lani that she told me that she was sick and dying.”

“I’ll see what I can do.  I assume you’ll be paying for them?”

Hethurin handed Aeramin a decent sized pouch of gold coins.  “Thank you so much.  Now, about that thing in the stable.  Do you have time now to go take a look at it?”

Aeramin nodded and followed Hethurin out of the small study.

Leave a comment

Filed under Aeramin, Sanimir, Story, World of Warcraft

Leave a Reply

