The Draft 7 – Hethurin’s Letters

Dear Nessna and Vessen,

Hello!  I hope everything is going well.  I think Rylad misses you, but he’s getting used to all of us.  The first night, I had trouble getting him to sleep, but now it’s a bit easier.  He’s adjusting to the bottle well, but I think the goat’s milk is a bit expensive.  I guess it’s because there aren’t many goats in town.  Maybe it would be cheaper in Silvermoon.  I will check the next time I’m there.  I can afford it either way.

I’ve been making the purees, like you said to.  I think he likes the carrots most because he spits less of it out.  Should I give him more carrots, or should I keep trying other things?

I hate washing diapers.  There really should be a better way.  There could be a cheap cloth or something to wrap his butt in.  Then after he does his business we could dig a hole to bury it in.  That would be better than washing them.

Tik has had to leave for Quel’Danas too.  I don’t know why they want him, but we do miss him.  He said he had combat training in his youth to provide extra security on the estate, so I guess they remember him from that.  He made some extra purees for Rylad before he left, but they’re all used up, so I’m making all of them now.

My apprentices get along with him fine.  Well, Renner is a bit indifferent, maybe even a little scared of him.  I don’t think he’s ever been around a baby before.  Desdeyliri adores him.  I’m trying to keep her from neglecting her studies too much, but with Tik gone, she’s stepped up and started helping in the kitchen because I’m horrible at cooking.  She also wants to play with Rylad, but I’m afraid that will cut into her study time.  I allow it anyways, because I do need a break sometimes, and she’s very good with him.

Muffins likes him too.  He licked Rylad’s face and Rylad laughed.

The sling you left for carrying him is my favorite thing now.  I put him in that for the lessons and he’s much less likely to cry.  I think he likes listening while I carry him.

Anyway, everything is good, and Rylad is safe and happy.  We’ve all settled in to the new routine even if it is a bit different.  I hope everything is going well on Quel’Danas.

– Hethurin Fairsong

***

Dear Lani,

Hi!  Father wrote and told me about everything, and where to write to you.  Maybe you could get the name changed back to be his name so that you could go back home.  He said he tried, but they couldn’t do anything because you had already gone.

I think everyone’s really worried about you.  I know I am, and I want you to come back safe.

If you stay there, maybe I can visit before you leave for Kalimdor.  I’m planning to go to the library on Quel’Danas soon, but I would have time for a quick visit before.

Please be careful.

– Hethurin Fairsong

***

Dear Tik,

Hi!  I wanted to let you know that everything is okay here.  I don’t have as much time to fish as I used to, but since I have to go to town occasionally anyway, it’s not a problem to just buy food there.

Des has been helping with cooking, and I’ve been trying to clean, as well as keep the spiders away from the lawn.  It’s a lot of work!  I’ll be giving you a raise when you get back, and there’s nothing you can say to stop me!

I’m going into town later to see the person the confessor recommended to fix up the one building.  Des thinks maybe he can help keep the spider population under control too.  I’ll see what he thinks about that, if he’s still there.  Maybe he’s gone too.  We haven’t seen any rangers patrolling lately either.

I’ve put some extra wards on the house, just in case.

Be careful, Tik.  We all miss you and hope for your safe return.

– Hethurin Fairsong

***

Confessor Morthorn,

Hi!  I hope everything is going well for you on Quel’Danas.  Things are good here.  There’s a lot of work without Tik, and a lot of work with my sister’s baby being here.  I had no idea how much work there could be.  Anyway, we’ve all been very busy.  I’m trying to make sure there’s still study time as well, but with just the three of us and the baby, I think I should lower the tuition cost, even though it’s already extremely low because I’m a new teacher and I need a reputation before I can charge more.  Maybe instead of lowering it, I should give some back for the work being done.

I received a letter from my father.  He said that Lani had the name switched to her going and took his spot.  He didn’t know about it until she was already gone.  He said he has yet to write to her, and he doesn’t know what to say.  I was a little stunned too when I read his letter, so I guess I understand.  It doesn’t sound like something she would do, but she did it.  It’s not like her at all.  Anyways, if you see her, maybe you can tell her that our father is worried sick about her, or maybe she knows because he figured out what to write after writing his letter to me.

I just wrote to her too.  I don’t know why she did that, but maybe I can talk to her when I make my trip to visit the library on Quel’Danas.  It might be too late to change it though.

I hope everything is going well for you.  We all miss you here, and hope for your safe return.

– Hethurin Fairsong

Leave a comment

Filed under Letter, Sanimir, World of Warcraft

Leave a Reply

