Lanthiriels Diary

Dear Diary,

The party was a disaster.  I’ve never been so embarrassed before.  And they were all looking.  I can still feel their eyes on me.  I never want to go back, but at the same time, I have to.  If mother finds someone for me then things will be even worse!  I hope Des’s mother knows of another party soon.  Maybe the boys at the next one will be right.

We arrived at this one on time.  There were three men we talked to.  One of them kept shoving wine in my face.  I don’t drink!  I just wanted water.  No one seemed to understand that.  Finally, near the end of the night, he went and found the kitchen to get some water.  You’d think I asked him to travel to Northrend or something!  He was the one who said he was a ranger too, but Lin said he wasn’t.  I don’t know.  He was carrying around a bow strapped to his back like he was something.  He was way too young for me anyway.

The second one was also young.  He might have been crazy too.  He was wearing a mask and a robe and said he was a Dalaran mage.  I thought that was kind of insensitive given that a lot of people lost family members there recently.  He went and got rabbit ears then.  He was funny, but I don’t think I want to marry a crazy guy just because he makes me laugh, and again, he was way too young.

The third guy was older, and is a builder.  He was fit, and very shy.  He hardly spoke all night.  He looked to be closer to my age, but he also had a slight resemblance to my brother, except the muscles.  Still, it was enough that it would really creep me out to even try to kiss him.  That’s not even mentioning that he lives and works on Quel’Danas.  I don’t want to move.  My work is here in Silvermoon with my father, and I don’t want that to change.  I have patients who rely on me here!

I have a key to the house in Silvermoon, so Lin, Des and I decided to stay there for the night and find a portal back the next night.  It was weird being in the house without my parents there.  I can’t think of a time that I was alone without them there before.  I guess I wasn’t really alone.  Des and Lin were there, but they aren’t my parents.

I envy Hethurin in a way.  He was able to leave everything behind and start over.  I have responsibilities and obligations that I can’t just leave.  I have patients who are relying on me to be here next week to give them the care that they need, and we always have someone on Friday who needs to stay overnight for an appointment.  I usually stay in the office that night and check on them regularly.

Maybe since father won’t pick someone for me, and won’t meet with the ones that mother finds, I should approach mother and tell her I’ll marry whoever she picks, with or without father’s approval.  I just want to get it over with.  I pray that whoever he is, he isn’t too horrible.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Journal, Lanthiriel, World of Warcraft

One response to “Lanthiriels Diary

  1. Aww poor Lani, it wasn’t that bad!

Leave a Reply

